PFA WSL Team of the Year

Ona Batlle and Mary Earps

Despite missing out on the Women’s Super League title to Chelsea, three Manchester United stars have been honoured in the PFA Women’s Super League Team of the Year at the 50th PFA Awards.

Manchester United and England keeper Mary Earps was in inspired form throughout the campaign, conceding only 12 goals in 22 games with 14 clean sheets to her name. Ona Batlle and Maya Le Tissier were part of the same stoic defence that was the foundation of their second-place finish. They also impressed pushing forward with Batlle notching nine assists, while Le Tissier scored twice in the campaign. Batlle earns her second appearance in the PFA WSL Team of the Year, while Earps and Le Tissier are included for the first time.

Manchester proved to be the hotbed of standouts in the WSL as City also have three played named in the Team of the Year.

England defender Alex Greenwood has honoured for a third time after another impressive season, while team-mate Yui Hasegawa enjoyed a successful first year at City to secure her first appearance in the Team of the Year. Khadija ‘Bunny’ Shaw accumulated an incredible 27 goal involvements, including 20 goals, to earn a PFA Women’s Player of the Year nomination and a place in the team.

Chelsea secured the WSL crown for the third season in a row, and the performances of Sam Kerr and Guro Reiten were decisive in their run to the title. Kerr scored 12 goals, and Reiten was equally influential in the final third with a league-high 11 assists. Kerr makes her third appearance, while Reiten has been named for the second year in a row.

Arsenal won the Women’s League Cup to deny a Chelsea sweep of all three crowns. Midfielder Frida Maanum was a model of consistency with nine goals and four assists, while at the other end of the pitch Rafaelle Souza kept the Gunners tight at the back.

Rachel Daly was the most prolific player in the WSL in the 2022/23 season, winning the Golden Boot. The Aston Villa forward was a constant thorn in the side of opposing defences, notching a career-high 22 goals to secure her first appearance in the WSL Team of the Year.

Congratulations from all at the PFA to all 11 players who have been named in the PFA WSL Team of the Year for the 2022/23 season.

Featured News

News Listing