player to coach scheme

Player to Coach Scheme

Inclusive Coaching Opportunities

The Professional Player to Coach Scheme is a joint programme from the PFA, the Premier League and the EFL, designed to increase the number of Black, South Asian and Minority Ethnic players who transition into full-time coaching roles in the professional game.

The scheme provides up to six coaches per season with a 23-month intensive work placement at an EFL club, within the Academy or First Team environment. Each coach works through an individualised learning and development programme during their placement, incorporating a variety of football functions. This usually includes physical performance and conditioning, recruitment, analysis, administration and coaching different age groups.

Participants also receive mentoring from PFA Coach Educators, who have extensive experience developing coaches within a club environment. Members of the Premier League's Black Participants' Advisory Group also support the players and clubs involved in the programme.

If you're a PFA member from a Black, South Asian or Minority Ethnic background and are interested in coaching, we encourage you to apply for this programme. The scheme is fully inclusive, available for male and female members of all ages and beneficial for aspiring coaches at any stage in their careers.

The pilot scheme cohort who began the programme at the start of the 2020/21 season, are all in full time employment, demonstrating the success of the scheme.

Cohort 1

  • Courtney Pitt – Head of Coaching, Burton Albion
  • Darren Byfield - First Team Coach, Crawley Town
  • Eric Odhiambo - Assistant 18s Coach, Coventry City
  • Harrison Gilkes - Academy Coach, Reading
  • Taff Rahman – FA YCD
  • Jon Paul pitman - 18s PDP, Forest Green Rovers

Cohort 2

  • Nathan Pond - Fleetwood Town
  • Kayne McLaggon – First team coach, Newport County
  • Ronayne Marsh-Brown - lead 13/14 coach, Cambridge United
  • Ashley Vincent - lead PDP, Cheltenham Town
  • Kevin James - Charlton Athletic
  • Francois Zoko - Lincoln City

Cohort 3

  • Gabriel Kubwalo - Blackpool
  • Reda Johnson – Cardiff City
  • Ricardo Fuller – Stoke City
  • Justin Richards - Forest Green Rovers
  • Jacques Maghoma - MK Dons
  • Yemi Odubade - Exeter City