PFA Premier League Team of the Year

Manchester City

Five of Manchester City’s title-winning side have been named in the Professional Footballers’ Association Premier League Team of the Year at the 50th PFA Awards.

Pep Guardiola’s men stormed their way to a third top-flight crown on the bounce, overcoming Arsenal in the final months of the season before adding the FA Cup and Champions League to secure a famous treble.

Erling Haaland was one of the driving factors behind their success. The Norway international broke the Premier League single-season goalscoring record with an incredible 36 strikes in just 35 games.

As a result, of his prowess in front of goal, he has earned his first appearance in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year along with other awards this term.

Kevin De Bruyne makes his fifth appearance in the Team of the Year after another consistent campaign for the champions, supplying 18 assists. Fellow midfielder Rodri has earned his first berth, capping a memorable season where he scored the winner in the Champions League final against Inter. Defenders John Stones and Ruben Dias join their team-mates after excelling at the back for Guardiola as City conceded the joint-fewest goals in the top-flight.

Arsenal exceeded expectations over the course of the campaign, sustaining a title challenge until the last few games before City ran away with the crown. So, it’s no surprise to see that four of their outstanding players have earned spots in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year.

Bukayo Saka shone in the final third for the Gunners, scoring 14 goals and adding 11 assists to earn his first appearance in the PFA Team of the Year. Arsenal captain Martin Ødegaard flourished with the responsibility of the armband and developed an eye for goal with a career-high 15 league goals.

Keeping goals out was just as important to Arsenal’s success. Aaron Ramsdale kept 14 clean sheets and made a number of incredible saves over the course of the campaign to get his first nod. William Saliba was exceptional at centre-back, and his importance to the Gunners was perhaps highlighted in the games he didn’t play for Mikel Arteta’s men in the closing stages of the term.

Only two players made the cut from teams outside of City and Arsenal. Harry Kane broke the 30-goal barrier on his way to becoming Tottenham’s all-time leading scorer. The England captain has been named in the Team of the Year for a sixth time. Kane’s Three Lions team-mate Kieran Trippier provided leadership and quality at the back for Newcastle United as the Magpies finished fourth in the Premier League and reached the EFL Cup final. The 33-year-old rounds out the side with his first appearance.

Congratulations to all 11 players who have earned their place in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year for the 2022/23 season.

PFA Premier League Team of the Year

  • Aaron Ramsdale – Arsenal
  • William Saliba – Arsenal
  • John Stones – Manchester City
  • Ruben Dias – Manchester City
  • Kieran Trippier – Newcastle United
  • Rodri – Manchester City
  • Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City
  • Martin Ødegaard – Arsenal
  • Erling Haaland – Manchester City
  • Bukayo Saka – Arsenal
  • Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspur


PFA Premier League Team of the Year

Featured News

News Listing