PFA League Two Team of the Year

Paul Smyth, Leyton Orient

Four of the leading lights from Leyton Orient’s title-winning team comprise the PFA League Two Team of the Year.

The O’s edged out Stevenage to secure top spot in the fourth tier, and it was primarily due to the resilience of their backline that conceded the fewest goals in the division.

Keeper Lawrence Vigouroux kept 24 clean sheets in 45 appearances and takes his place in goal in the PFA League Two Team of the Year. He is joined by defender Omar Beckles, whose leadership and experience were pivotal for Richie Wellens’ team. Idris El Mizouni and Paul Smyth also make the grade from Orient due to their prowess in the final third.

Fellow promoted clubs Stevenage, Northampton Town and Carlisle United each have one representative in the side. Carl Piergianni gets the nod for Stevenage at the back, Sam Hoskins’ excellence in front of goal has earned him the honour up front, and Carlisle’s Owen Moxon is recognised for his form in the middle of the park.

Salford City’s Elliot Watt proved that is developing into an outstanding midfielder, earning a Team of the Year slot and the nomination for League Two Player of the Year. Watt is joined by his Salford team-mate Ibou Touray, who enjoyed an impressive campaign at the back.

Completing the team are League Two top-scorer Andy Cook after notching 28 goals for Bradford City and Colchester United’s rising star Junior Tchamadeu.

The PFA sends its congratulations to all members of the PFA League Two Team of the Year for the 2022/23 season.

PFA League Two Team of the Year

  • Lawrence Vigouroux – Leyton Orient
  • Omar Beckles – Leyton Orient
  • Carl Piergianni – Stevenage
  • Junior Tchamadeu – Colchester United
  • Ibou Touray – Salford City
  • Idris El Mizouni – Leyton Orient
  • Elliot Watt – Salford City
  • Owen Moxon – Carlisle United
  • Andy Cook – Bradford City
  • Paul Smyth – Leyton Orient
  • Sam Hoskins – Northampton Town


PFA League Two Team of the Year


Featured News

News Listing