Andy Cook PFA League Two Players' Player of the Year 2023

Andy Cook, Bradford City PFA League Two POTY

Bradford City’s Andy Cook has won the first PFA League Two Players' Player of the Year Award for his outstanding 2023 season.

The Bantams forward was electric in the final third as he helped steer his side into the League Two playoffs, finishing sixth in the table before losing out to Carlisle United in the semi-finals.

Cook won the League Two Golden Boot after scoring 28 goals for Mark Hughes’ men, almost half of their entire tally of 61 in the campaign. The 32-year-old’s exploits also saw him named in the PFA League Two Team of the Year.

Andy Cook, Bradford City

The forward claimed the award ahead of Leyton Orient trio Lawrence Vigouroux, Paul Smyth and Omar Beckles, who played vital roles for the O’s in their promotion. Northampton Town’s Sam Hoskins and Salford City’s Elliot Watt were also nominated.

Cook said after winning the award: “

“It’s a proud moment and an honour to be voted by my peers. It’s brilliant. It’s always nice for the work you’ve done not to go unnoticed. To do what I did last year and then get the recognition from all the players in League Two is unbelievable.

“I didn’t start in the first couple of games last season, but then I scored a couple of goals off the bench. I got into a run of scoring goals and fortunately it didn’t stop.”

Congratulations from all of us at the PFA to Andy on his win.

Featured News