PFA League One Team of the Year

League One

Ipswich Town narrowly missed out on the title to rivals Plymouth, but the Tractor Boys have a club-high three players named to the PFA League One Team of the Year at the 50th PFA Awards.

Kieran McKenna’s men returned to the Championship after a four-year exile, scoring 101 goals to finish second with an impressive tally of 98 points. Conor Chaplin’s form was a large part of their success, finishing the term as the division’s joint top-scorer with 26 goals. Leif Davis played more than his part in allowing the Tractor Boys to fire in front of the net, contributing 14 assists from left-back. Sam Morsy was the glue in the midfield as captain, leading his team to promotion with 44 appearances and four goals.

Although Plymouth were dominant throughout the season and won the League One title with 101 points, only one of their stars has been recognised. Bali Mumba shifted to wing-back following his loan move from Norwich and excelled for Steven Schumacher’s side with six goals and seven assists over the course of the campaign. 

Sheffield Wednesday kept pace with both Plymouth and Ipswich at the top of the table throughout the season thanks to Barry Bannan’s continued skill in the middle of the park, earning his second-straight League One Team of the Year appearance. 

Despite missing out on promotion, Barnsley and Bolton Wanderers both have two players each named in the side. Mads Andersen’s quality at the back was evident for the Tykes, so much so that he has moved straight to the Premier League with Luton Town. Luca Connell had a great first season at Oakwell, notching eight assists from the middle of the park.
James Trafford has joined Andersen in the Premier League with a move to Burnley after a stellar loan spell with Bolton as well as the decisive penalty save for the England Under-21s in their European Championship triumph. Ricardo Santos also enjoyed an excellent campaign in the Trotters backline.

The experience of David McGoldrick almost steered Derby County into the playoffs with 22 goals. Peterborough United’s Jonson Clarke-Harris’ tally was even better as he finished alongside Chaplin as the division’s leading scorer with 26 efforts to his name, earning his second appearance in the League One Team of the Year.

Congratulations to all the players who have been named in the PFA League One Team of the Year for the 2022/23 season.

PFA League One Team of the Year

James Trafford – Bolton Wanderers
Bali Mumba – Plymouth Argyle
Leif Davis – Ipswich Town
Ricardo Santos – Bolton Wanderers
Mads Andersen – Barnsley
Barry Bannan – Sheffield Wednesday
Sam Morsy – Ipswich Town
Luca Connell – Barnsley
Conor Chaplin – Ipswich Town
Jonson Clarke-Harris – Peterborough United
David McGoldrick – Derby County


PFA League One Team of the Year



Featured News

News Listing