Conor Chaplin PFA League One Players' Player of the Year 2023

Conor Chaplin, Ipswich Town

Congratulations to Conor Chaplin, who has won the 2023 PFA League One Players’ Player of the Year Award.

The Ipswich Town forward produced a remarkable season for Kieran McKenna’s men in their charge back to the Championship. Chaplin scored 26 goals in 45 appearances for the Tractor Boys, sharing the League One Golden Boot.

The 26-year-old not only earned the recognition of his fellow players, but he was also named PFA Fans' League One Player of the Month for August 2022 and September 2022, and also earned a nod in the PFA League One Team of the Season.

Conor Chaplin, Ipswich Town

Chaplin beat out the League One joint top-scorer Jonson Clarke-Harris along with Bali Mumba, Barry Bannan, David McGoldrick and Aaron Collins to win the award.

After collecting the inaugural PFA League One Players’ Player of the Year Award, Chaplin said: 

“It’s a lovely trophy and it’s a prestigious trophy being the first one from League One, so it’s special. I’m really happy. To be respected and acknowledged by the players you go up against every single week holds a bit more weight. It’s nice to get that recognition.

“Obviously, it helps that the club were successful in putting the spotlight on individuals. I’m going to need to find a big space in my house for the trophy. I can’t wait to take it home.”

From all of us at the PFA, congratulations to Conor.


Featured News