PFA Championship Team of the Year

Connor Roberts and Josh Brownhill celebrate scoring a goal

Burnley cruised their way to a Premier League return under Vincent Kompany, and five of their stars have been acknowledged in the PFA Championship Team of the Year at the 50th PFA Awards.

Nathan Tella proved to be a smash-hit in the final third on loan from Southampton. The forward notched 17 goals to fire the Clarets to the Championship title, including two hat-tricks against Preston North End and Hull City. He was nominated for the PFA Championship Player of the Year award due to his exceptional performances, but Josh Brownhill too earned a nomination and joins his team-mate in the PFA Team of the Year. The 27-year-old scored seven goals and contributed eight assists from the Burnley midfield.

Keeping tight at the back was just as vital for Kompany’s team. The Belgian signed keeper Arijanet Muric from his former club Manchester City, and he proved to be a key player between the posts with 18 clean sheets. Full-backs Connor Roberts and Ian Maatsen were just as crucial in shutting up shop and in the final third, and have rightfully earned their spots.

Sheffield United too enjoyed a brilliant campaign to finish second and secure a return to the Premier League. Iliman Ndiaye and Anel Ahmedhodžić were their standout players for Paul Heckingbottom. Ndiaye was devastating in the final third with 14 goals and 11 assists. Ahmedhodzic was a classy operator at the back for the second-tightest defence in the league while also adding six goals.

Luton Town were the surprise package to finish third in the Championship before battling their way through the playoffs to reach the Premier League. Captain Tom Lockyer was the heart and soul of the Hatters’ charge, including a decisive header against Sunderland in the playoff semi-finals at Kenilworth Road. Up front Carlton Morris provided the firepower with 20 goals to send Rob Edwards’ men to the top flight.

Morris had a great campaign in front of goal, but no player scored more than Middlesbrough’s Chuba Akpom in the 2022/23 campaign. Akpom fired in 28 goals in just 40 appearances for Michael Carrick’s team, earning a nomination for Championship Player of Year in the process. Coventry City’s Victor Gyökeres was also one of the best marksmen around in the second tier, scoring 21 of the Sky Blues’ 58 Championship goals.

The PFA extends its congratulations to all players that have been named in the PFA Championship Team of the Year for the 2022/23 season.

PFA Championship Team of the Year

  • Arijanet Muric – Burnley
  • Connor Roberts – Burnley
  • Tom Lockyer – Luton Town
  • Anel Ahmedhodžić – Sheffield United
  • Ian Maatsen – Burnley 
  • Iliman Ndiaye – Sheffield United
  • Josh Brownhill – Burnley
  • Nathan Tella – Burnley
  • Carlton Morris – Luton Town
  • Chuba Akpom – Middlesbrough
  • Viktor Gyökeres – Coventry City


PFA Championship Team of the Year

Featured News

News Listing