Hero Background


PFA Players' Player of the Year Nominees

Men's PFA Players' Player of the Year nominees

The Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) will commemorate the 50th anniversary of its awards ceremony by honouring the standout stars of the 2022/23 season.

The campaign produced memorable moments and historic achievements from individuals and clubs alike as Manchester City stormed their way to a magnificent treble, winning the Premier League, FA Cup and UEFA Champions League.

Our PFA members have voted for their top performers for the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year.

The nominees for the PFA Players’ Player of the Year include Erling Haaland, who took English football by storm following his move to Manchester City. The Norwegian striker broke the single-season Premier League goalscoring record by firing in 36 goals in just 35 games.

It was one of just a litany of feats achieved by Haaland as his goals propelled City to a famous treble. But, he could not have done that without 2020 and 2021 PFA Player of the Year Kevin De Bruyne, who would become the first three-time winner of the award. The Belgian was equally brilliant for Pep Guardiola’s team, providing 18 assists and seven goals in their run to the crown.

John Stones rounds out the City stars in the running after emerging as the key link between defence and midfield for the champions, who conceded the joint-fewest goals in the top flight.

Arsenal’s Martin Ødegaard and Bukayo Saka almost steered the Gunners to the crown with impressive seasons. Ødegaard took on the mantle of captaincy and shone in the role with 15 goals, emulating the success of his compatriot Haaland in front of the net. Saka enhanced his burgeoning reputation with 14 strikes and 11 assists.

Across North London, Harry Kane enjoyed one of his best Premier League campaigns for Tottenham, breaking the 30-goal mark for the second time in his career as he bids to win the award for the first time.

PFA Players' Player of the Year nominees:

  • Erling Haaland – Manchester City
  • Kevin De Bruyne - Manchester City
  • John Stones – Manchester City
  • Martin Ødegaard – Arsenal
  • Bukayo Saka - Arsenal
  • Harry Kane - Tottenham Hotspur

Featured News

News Listing