Hero Background


PFA Young Player of the Year Nominees

PFA Young Player of the Year nominees

The youthful nature of the Premier League stars has resulted in a crossover for the nominees for the PFA Young Player of the Year award.

Haaland’s remarkable campaign was made all the more astounding as he started the season aged only 21. The Norwegian could become the first player to win both PFA Players' Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year in the same season since Gareth Bale in 2013.

As could Saka. The Arsenal man is nominated for the fourth season in a row after narrowly missing out to Manchester City’s Phil Foden for the past two years. He would be the first Gunner to win the award since Leah Williamson in 2015 and since Jack Wilshere in 2011 from the men's category.

Saka will have competition from his team-mate Gabriel Martinelli. The winger had a breakout season as part of Arsenal’s potent forward line alongside Saka and Odegaard, with 15 goals and five assists to his name. He would be the first Brazilian recipient of the PFA Young Player of the Year.

Brighton and Hove Albion’s Moisés Caicedo and Evan Ferguson were two of the surprise stories of the season from the South Coast. Caicedo shone in his first full campaign under Roberto De Zerbi, dominating the midfield. Ferguson became the youngest Brighton player to score in the Premier League at the age of 18 in a 4-2 defeat to Arsenal. The Republic of Ireland forward added a further five league goals in a promising season.

Jacob Ramsey would be the fifth Aston Villa player to win PFA Young Player of the Year, having been nominated for the second successive year. The England Under-21 international played 34 games and scored six goals as the Villans qualified for the UEFA Conference League.

All of these players are rightful nominees after outstanding seasons. Be sure to check out our social channels on August 29th when we announce the winners at the 50th PFA Awards.

PFA Young Player of the Year nominees:

  • Erling Haaland - Manchester City
  • Bukayo Saka - Arsenal
  • Gabriel Martinelli - Arsenal
  • Moisés Caicedo – Brighton and Hove Albion
  • Evan Ferguson – Brighton and Hove Albion
  • Jacob Ramsey - Aston Villa 

Featured News

News Listing