Hero Background


PFA Players' Player of the Year Nominees

Women's PFA Players' Player of the Year nominees 2023

The PFA will celebrate the 50th year of our annual awards by honouring the best players out of the women’s game with the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award.

It has been yet another exhilarating campaign in the Women’s Super League (WSL), Women’s FA Cup and Women’s League Cup. Chelsea excelled yet again as the class of the sport by recording a WSL and FA Cup double for the third season in a row as well as reaching the League Cup final, where they were defeated by Arsenal.

Both Chelsea and Arsenal made deep forays into the UEFA Champions League, reaching the semi-final stage. There were a number of stellar performers from the ranks of the Blues and the Gunners, and they feature among the list of our nominees for PFA Players’ Player of the Year.

Last year’s winner Sam Kerr enjoyed another outstanding campaign for Chelsea. She scored 29 goals in 38 appearances in all competitions for Emma Hayes’ team, playing an instrumental role in their charge towards a third-straight WSL and FA Cup double.

Kerr could join Lucy Bronze and Chelsea team-mate Fran Kirby in becoming a two-time winner. Guro Reiten will be pushing Kerr for the award after an equally impressive campaign for the Blues with 13 goals and 19 assists. The Norway international shone in the final third and would be the fourth overseas player to claim the award.

Reiten’s compatriot Frida Maanum was one of the stars of the season for Arsenal, helping the Gunners to defeat Chelsea in the League Cup final. Maanum was nominated for Young Player of the Year last term but has now taken her game to the next level for club and country. Manchester City’s Khadija ‘Bunny’ Shaw produced a brilliant WSL season, scoring 20 goals in just 21 appearances, along with seven assists.

But, even Shaw’s exploits in front of goal were eclipsed by Aston Villa’s Rachel Daly, who finished the campaign as the WSL’s top scorer with 22 strikes in her first season with the Villans, including two hat-tricks against Reading. Ona Batlle was extremely impressive in her final season at Manchester United, tallying nine assists as the Red Devils finished second, narrowly behind Chelsea in the race for the WSL title.

Each player has put forward a great case, but for this prestigious accolade, which is voted exclusively by their WSL peers, there can be only one PFA Players’ Player of the Year.

Watch our social feeds where we’ll announce the winners of both prizes at the PFA 50th Awards ceremony on August 29th.

PFA Players' Player of the Year Nominees

  • Ona Batlle – Manchester United
  • Rachel Daly – Aston Villa
  • Sam Kerr – Chelsea
  • Frida Maanum – Arsenal
  • Guro Reiten - Chelsea
  • Khadija ‘Bunny’ Shaw – Manchester City

Featured News

News Listing