Hero Background


PFA League One Players' Player of the Year Nominees

PFA League One Players' Player of the Year Nominees

In League One Ipswich Town and Plymouth Argyle excelled to earn promotion to the Championship, and Sheffield Wednesday provided enough drama for a lifetime in their League One playoff campaign.

Here are the players that stood out from League One to make the nominees for our inaugural EFL Players' Player of the Year awards.

The outstanding performers from League One were hugely competitive, with representatives from six different teams up for the PFA League One Players' Player of the Year award.

Ipswich’s Conor Chaplin was responsible for 26 of their 101 goals in the third tier last season. He was joint top-scorer in League One with Peterborough United’s Jonson Clarke-Harris, who highlighted his reliability in front of goal with another clinical season.

Barry Bannan’s class and experience were vital for Sheffield Wednesday in their Wembley run and return to the second tier. Contrast that with the youthful exuberance of Bali Mumba at Plymouth Argyle as he adjusted and starred at wing-back for the title-winning Pilgrims.

David McGoldrick’s 22 goals kept Derby County in the playoff hunt until the end of the term, while Aaron Collins was again the model of consistency in front of goal for Bristol Rovers.

We’ll bring you the results from the 50th PFA Awards on August 29th on our social channels. Keep tuned to find out all our EFL winners.

PFA League One Players' Player of the Year Nominees

  • Barry Bannan – Sheffield Wednesday
  • Conor Chaplin – Ipswich Town
  • Aaron Collins – Bristol Rovers
  • Jonson Clarke-Harris – Peterborough United
  • David McGoldrick – Derby County
  • Bali Mumba – Plymouth Argyle

Featured News

News Listing