PFA League One Team of the Year

Jack Whatmough celebrates goal

PFA League One Team of the Year 

  • Gavin Bazunu - Portsmouth   
  • Harry Darling - Milton Keynes Dons
  • Jack Whatmough - Wigan Athletic
  • Michael Ihiekwe - Rotherham United
  • Ricardo Santos - Bolton Wanderers      
  • Barry Bannan - Sheffield Wednesday
  • Scott Twine - Milton Keynes Dons
  • Cameron Brannagan - Oxford United        
  • Cole Stockton - Morecambe
  • Ross Stewart – Sunderland
  • Will Keane - Wigan Athletic

In terms of club representation, the most diverse of 2022’s divisional teams, players from nine clubs make up the PFA League One Team of the Year. 

Two players from Wigan Athletic’s league-winning side feature in the 2022 PFA League One Team of the Year. 

Defender Jack Whatmough was voted the club’s player of the year after an outstanding season that saw him feature in all 46 matches, score twice and help Ben Amos and Jamie Jones keep 16 clean sheets. Combined with the 26 goals Will Keane scored to win the League One golden boot, the PFA Team of the Year duo helped the Lactic’s end the season with 92 points and promotion to the Championship. 

Michael Ihiekwe secured his PFA Team of the Year place with a phenomenal performance that saw Rotherham United concede the least goals in the league and secure automatic promotion. Making 52 appearances for Paul Warne’s team, The Millers conceded just 33 goals, 11 fewer than any other team in the league.  

Sunderland’s Ross Stewart scored an impressive 25 goals this season, finishing as League One’s second top goal scorer and securing his place in the 2022 PFA League One Team of the Year. His goal tally helped Sunderland qualify for the League One playoffs, where he went on to score the winner in the final, sending Sunderland back to the Championship after a four-season absence.

MK Dons’ Harry Darling’s solid performance and Scott Twine’s 13 assists helped the club finish three points off the top spot and ensured both made the 2022 PFA Team of the Year. Barry Bannan makes the list for helping the Owls reach the play offs, with Oxford United’s Cameron Brannagan, Bolton Wanderers defender Ricardo Santos, Portsmouth goalkeeper Gavin Bazunu and the league’s third-highest goal scorer, Morecambe’s Cole Stockton, taking the final four spots. 

Congratulations to the 2022 PFA League One Team of the Year from everybody at the PFA!

League One XI

Featured News

News Listing