PFA Championship Team of the Year

Aleksandar Mitrović celebrates

PFA Championship Team of the Year

  • Lee Nicholls - Huddersfield Town
  • Djed Spence - Nottingham Forest
  • Tosin Adarabioyo - Fulham
  • Lloyd Kelly - Bournemouth
  • Tim Ream - Fulham    
  • Harry Wilson - Fulham
  • Fabio Carvalho - Fulham
  • Philip Billing - Bournemouth
  • Aleksandar Mitrović - Fulham
  • Dominic Solanke – Bournemouth
  • Ben Brereton Díaz - Blackburn Rovers

Players from newly-promoted Fulham feature five times in the 2022 PFA Championship Team Of The Year, with players from just four other teams securing a spot.

Fulham hit the ground running this season, with Championship Player of the Year and record breaker, Aleksander Mitrović, winger, Harry Wilson, midfielder Fabio Carvalho and centre-backs, Tim Ream and Tosin Adarabioyo all contributing to an incredible season that secured Fulham’s first league title in 21 years and a spot each in the PFA’s Team of the Year. With the exception of Carvalho who played 38 games, each player appeared in more than 40 matches, which combined with Aleksander’s 43 goals and Harry’s 19 assists, ensured a swift and deserved return to the top flight. 

Bournemouth defender Lloyd Kelly, midfielder Philip Billing and the league’s second-highest goal scorer, Dominic Solanke earned their places in PFA’s Team of the Year after inspired performances that sent the Cherries back to the Premier League after two years away. Captain Lloyd’s presence on the field helped Bournemouth record the most clean sheets and concede the fewest goals in the league, while 29 goals from Dominic and ten assists from Phillip, helped Bournemouth set themselves apart from their promotion rivals. 

Blackburn Rovers’ Ben Brereton Díaz gets a Team of the Year nod after the best-scoring season of his career, which secured him joint-third top goal scorer in the league. His 22 goals included his first hat-trick for the club against Cardiff City last September, which saw Rovers beat the visitors 5-1. 

Huddersfield Town goalkeeper Lee Nicholls and Nottingham Forest fullback Djed Spence take the final two spots in our 2022 Team of the Year, after stellar performances that helped both clubs reach the Championship play-off final. Lee kept a fantastic 19 clean sheets this season, just one behind Bournemouth’s Mark Travers. Winning goal of the month for a wonderful strike against QPR, Djed got his first England U21 call up earlier this year, helped Forest return to the Premier League after 23 years of waiting and was in excellent form in the FA Cup this season, scoring the fourth goal in Forest’s 4-1 victory over Leicester City. 

The EFL Championship remains one of the most exciting club football competitions in the world, regularly securing more viewers than top-flight games across Europe and nurturing the most promising talent of the next generation. A massive congratulations from everyone at the PFA to all players on our 2022 PFA Championship Team of the Year!

Championship XI

Featured News

News Listing