Latest News

Meet the Candidates for the new PFA Players’ Board

Players' Board

PFA members will soon receive their election ballot for the new Players' Board!

Firstly, we would like to thank all the potential candidates for their applications for the PFA’s Players’ Board.

The Players’ Board will comprise of 13 elected representatives, two members from each of the five divisions (Premier League, Women’s Super League, Championship, League One and League Two), plus three former members, two of which must have retired or been a full member in the last five years.

The Players’ Board Candidates:

Premier League

Premier League

Lee Grant (Manchester United), Tom Heaton (Aston Villa), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa) and Wes Morgan (Leicester City).



Florence Allen (Bristol City), Danielle Carter (Reading), Steph Houghton (Manchester City) and Katie Zelem (Manchester United).



Matt Bloomfield (Wycombe Wanderers), Troy Deeney (Watford), George Friend (Birmingham City), Angus MacDonald (Rotherham United), Michael Morrison (Reading), Matt Smith (Millwall) and Jack Stacey (AFC Bournemouth).

League One

League One

Mathieu Baudry (Swindon Town), Omar Beckles (Crewe Alexandra), Thomas Flanagan (Sunderland), Olly Lancashire (Crewe Alexandra), Mark Marshall (Northampton Town), John Mousinho (Oxford United), Ollie Palmer (AFC Wimbledon), Alex Rodman (Bristol Rovers) and Bailey Wright (Sunderland). 

League Two

League Two

Peter Clarke (Tranmere Rovers), Scott Cuthbert (Stevenage), Harrison Dunk (Cambridge United), Kevin Ellison (Newport County), Thomas Lapslie (Colchester United), Jamille Matt (Forest Green Rovers), Liam O’Neil (Cambridge United), Joe Riley (Mansfield Town) and Ben Tozer (Cheltenham Town).

Former Members

Former Members

Leandra Little, Chris McCready, Chloe Morgan, Dave Regis, Lawrie Sanchez, Marvin Sordell, Peter Vincenti and Fern Whelan.

The Players’ Board ballots explained:

All current members who have applied to be on the Players' Board are automatically included on the ballot.

Due to the number of applications received from former members, a sub-committee of the current Players' Board identified a shortlist of candidates.

When shortlisting the applications from former members, the Players’ Board sub-committee considered whether the former player candidates had demonstrated the following factors, skills and attributes:

  • Being committed to helping the PFA and its members
  • Being willing to go above and beyond
  • Being best placed to offer guidance and support to the new CEO
  • Being able to provide complementary skill sets to the current members on the new Board
  • Being forward-thinking and motivated
  • Having a strong ongoing connection with football
  • Having experience of dealing with and overcoming adversity
  • Having a diverse range of thoughts and experiences
  • Having experience of bringing about change

The Players' Board committee was highly conscious of shortlisting the former player candidates for the ballot in a fair and non-biased way. Objective and impartial measures were used when reviewing the applications received from existing members of the current Players' Board. These measures included factors such as engagement with meetings, attendance and overall commitment to the PFA.

Thank you!

The Players' Board committee would like to express their gratitude for the time and effort that all candidates spent in preparing their applications and would strongly encourage applicants who were not shortlisted in this instance to apply again in the future.

Featured News

News Listing