Latest News

Vivianne Miedema named FWA Women's Footballer of the Year

Vivianne Miedema, netherlands

Arsenal and Netherlands forward Vivianne Miedema, has been named the Footballer Writer's Association Women's Footballer of the Year. 

Miedema becomes the third recipient to receive the FWA award, following Fran Kirby in 2018 and Nikita Parris in 2019. The 23-year-old missed out last season on the prize by one vote, but this year beat Chelsea's Bethany England to win the accolade by one vote. 

Miedema was crowned PFA Players’ Player of the Year in April 2019, and later that year helped the Dutch team reach the World Cup Final. In 2019/20, she was top goalscorer for both club and country, and topped the charts in the WSL - with 16 goals. 

Vivianne Miedema

Chair of FWA's women's subcommittee Jen O'Neill told the BBC: "Vivianne's clinical efficiency in front of goal and her seemingly effortless poise, can mean her all-round ability and footballing intelligence are sometimes overlooked. She is a worthy winner and a world-class performer.

"With more assists than any other WSL player this season, she is also a valuable creator of openings for team-mates, dropping to collect the ball and playing in others, or making space with her movement"

Congratulations to Vivianne from everyone at the PFA. 

Featured News

News Listing