Latest News

LMA Diploma in Football Management Graduation 2018-19


The LMA congratulates the 21 students who graduated from the 2018-2019 LMA Diploma in Football Management, 11 of whom were awarded their diplomas in a ceremony at the University of Liverpool yesterday.

Established in 2002, the LMA Diploma is delivered by the University of Liverpool, led by Professor Sue Bridgewater and supported by the PFA. It provides a one year intensive learning programme focused on leadership and management subjects, preparing individuals for the real-life challenges of managing in the professional game.

The LMA Diploma is a cornerstone of the LMA Institute of Leadership and High Performance, supported by the Premier League, and plays a significant role in the LMA's commitment to supporting managers and coaches throughout their professional careers. It is delivered by a team of academic and industry experts, as well as engaging many of the LMA’s senior members throughout the year. It covers topics including Building Effective Teams, Health and Resilience, Football Finance, Diversity and Languages.

Since the course began, a total of 212 managers and coaches have graduated, with over 40% having gone on to manage in the professional game following successful completion. So far this season, 23 managers who have managed in the men's professional game and a third of current managers in the Barclays FA Women's Super League are Diploma alumni. 

This year’s graduates included the Football League’s current longest serving manager, Gareth Ainsworth. On receiving his LMA Diploma, Gareth said: “I would highly recommend the LMA Diploma to any aspiring coach or manager, especially in the modern game where people management has become so important. The course provides a wide range of fantastic masterclasses and a strong peer network, alongside access to a team of expert mentors, giving students the opportunity to gain further techniques to succeed in the ever-changing role of the football manager.”

LMA Chief Executive Richard Bevan added: “Many congratulations to the 2018-2019 LMA Diploma cohort. Successful graduation from the LMA Diploma is a huge achievement and testament to the dedication of those involved to their own self-improvement. We look forward to supporting the graduates as they progress further in their careers.”


  • Gareth Ainsworth
  • Peter Atherton
  • Wayne Brown
  • Gary Caldwell
  • Pep Clotet
  • John Doolan
  • Lisa Fallon
  • Matt Gill
  • Matt Gray
  • Nick Haycock
  • Chris Hogg
  • Zoe Johnson
  • Russell Martin
  • Johnny McKinstry
  • Gerard Nash
  • George Parris
  • James Rowberry
  • Steve Rutter
  • Rehanne Skinner
  • Darren Way
  • Danny Webb

Featured News

News Listing